Next-Generation Sequencing

The introduction of next-generation sequencing (NGS) fundamentally changed how we approach scientific and diagnostic issues. Next-generation sequencing’s potential to produce large amounts of sequence data for a relatively low price led to a series of groundbreaking discoveries and ushered the field of genomics into a new era.

NGS Service

CeGaT has specialized in the use of NGS since its foundation. In addition to using it as a tool in our diagnostic services we offer this technology as a service for customer-specific projects.

Depending on the specific research questions and goals, our laboratory offers sequencing on the Illumina NovaSeq, HiSeq and MiSeq platforms.

Our services include:

  • Genome Sequencing

  • Targeted Sequencing (Exome and Panels: Agilent SureSelect; Amplicons)

  • Restriction site associated DNA Sequencing (RAD genotyping)

  • RNA Sequencing (Transcriptome Sequencing, smallRNA Sequencing)

  • Metagenome Sequencing

Start your project now

Please do not hesitate to contact us – we are happy to design a custom concept for your project.

5 + 1 = ?

Our team has a wide range of expertise in the processing of plant samples in addition to substantial experience with human and other mammalian samples.

Based on many years of using NGS technology, we have gained great expertise in high-throughput technology for processing hundreds of samples.
Our laboratories are equipped with five liquid handling workstation platforms from Agilent Bravo A/B and Hamilton STAR. Each of these platforms can be individually programmed allowing specific adaptations of our protocols based on your requirements.

The multiplexing strategy we have established in our laboratory allows the sequencing of thousands of samples in one sequencing run, or even in one lane and therefore represents true high-throughput sequencing.

We would be happy to demonstrate the feasibility of your high-throughput projects in a pilot study.

Our dedicated Customer Solutions team of scientists and bioinformaticians work with you closely to develop the best strategy for the realization of your projects.
After the preparation and sequencing of the samples we provide you with either the raw data for self-analysis or full analysis options.
Each project is led by a scientist and supervised by a project manager, who is your contact throughout the entire project.

NGS technology

The term next-generation sequencing (NGS) covers all innovative technologies for high-throughput sequencing. Next-generation sequencing is based on the parallel sequencing of millions of different DNA fragments in a single sequencing run. Compared with the traditional Sanger method this new technology allows an increase in throughput by several orders of magnitude and drastically lowers costs.

The steps from DNA to data can be divided into three sections: (1) Preparation of a DNA library, (2) Clonal, parallel amplification of DNA and (3) Sequencing.

Preparation of a DNA library

For the preparation of the DNA library, the DNA must first be fragmented. The ends of the DNA fragments are than repaired, as they are damaged by the fragmentation. The ligation of adapters to both sides of the repaired DNA fragments completes the preparation of the DNA library. These adapters contain sequence motifs that are required for subsequent steps (clonal amplification and the actual sequencing).

Clonal amplification

Illumina technology uses the so-called “Bridge-PCR” for clonal amplification of individual DNA fragments. This PCR is performed on the Flow Cell (a glass side similar to a microscope slide) on which the actual sequencing takes place. DNA fragments are linked via the adapters to the Flow Cell, then the Bridge-PCR is carried out. Oligos bound to the Flow Cell function as primers, and each individual DNA fragment forms a seperate cluster of identical DNA fragments.

Sequencing

Illumina’s Sequencing-by-Synthesis (SBS) is based on the Cyclic Reversible Termination (CRT) method. Each of the four nucleotides is linked with a different dye and modified by a terminator group. During a reaction cycle all four nucleotides are offered simultaneously to the polymerase for strand synthesis. After incorporation of a complementary nucleotide strand elongation is no longer possible due to the blocking effect of the terminator group. The four dyes of each nucleotide can be detected using Imaging: the dye and the terminator group are cleaved and a new synthesis cycle starts. The sequence of each cluster is thus simultaneously determined base by base.

Using sophisticated bioinformatics, individual base sequences (reads) are aligned to and compared with the reference genome for mutation detection.

Next-Generation Sequencing

Die Einführung von Next-Generation Sequencing (NGS) hat den Blickwinkel auf wissenschaftliche und diagnostische Fragestellungen grundlegend geändert. Die Möglichkeit mittels Next-Generation Sequencing große Mengen Sequenzdaten zu einem vergleichsweise geringen Preis zu produzieren führte zu einer Reihe bahnbrechender Entdeckungen und läutete eine neue Ära im Bereich der Genomforschung ein.

NGS Service

Seit der Gründung ist CeGaT auf die Anwendung von Next-Generation Sequencing (NGS) spezialisiert und bietet daher neben der Diagnostik auch Next-Generation Sequencing als Service für kundenspezifische Projekte an.

Abhängig von der Fragestellung kann unser Labor Sequenzierungen auf verschiedenen HiSeq Plattformen und einem MiSeq (beides von Illumina) anbieten.

Unser Portfolio umfasst:

  • Genom Sequenzierung

  • Targeted Sequencing (Exom und Panels: Agilent SureSelect; Amplikons)

  • Restriction site associated DNA Sequencing (RAD genotyping)

  • RNA Sequenzierung (Transkriptom Sequenzierung, Small RNA Sequenzierung)

  • Metagenom Sequenzierung

Starten Sie Ihr Projekt jetzt

Sprechen Sie uns an, wir entwickeln auch für Ihr Projekt gern ein Konzept.

2 + 5 = ?

Dabei kann unser Team neben fundierten Erfahrungen mit humanen oder anderen Säuger-Proben auch eine weitreichende Expertise in der Bearbeitung von Pflanzen-Proben vorweisen.

Während unserer langjährigen Next-Generation Sequencing Arbeit haben wir eine hohe Kompetenz in Hochdurchsatzverfahren zur Bearbeitung hunderter von Proben entwickelt.
Unsere Labore sind mit fünf Liquid Handling Workstations der Plattformen Agilent Bravo A/B und Hamilton Star ausgestattet. Jede dieser Plattformen können individuell programmiert werden; dies ermöglicht eine spezifische Anpassung unserer Protokolle an Ihre Anforderungen.

In unserem Labor haben wir ein Multiplex-Verfahren etabliert, welches die Sequenzierung von Tausenden von Proben in einem Sequenzierlauf, oder sogar in einer Lane, zulässt und somit ein wirkliches High-Throughput Sequencing ermöglicht.

Gern demonstrieren wir die Machbarkeit Ihrer Hochdurchsatz-Projekte in einer Pilot-Studie.

Unser engagiertes Customer Solutions-Team aus Wissenschaftlern und Bioinformatikern entwickelt in enger Abstimmung mit Ihnen die beste Strategie zur Realisierung Ihrer Projekte.
Dabei bieten wir Ihnen neben der Präparation und Sequenzierung der Proben, die Rohdaten zur Eigenanalyse oder auch eine fertige Auswertung an.

Jedes Projekt wird von einem Wissenschaftler geleitet und von einem Projektmanager betreut, der während der gesamten Projektphase Ihr Ansprechpartner ist.

NGS Technologie

Unter dem Begriff Next-Generation Sequencing (NGS) werden alle innovativen Technologien zur Hochdurchsatz-Sequenzierung zusammengefasst. Next-Generation Sequencing beruht auf der parallelen Sequenzierung von Millionen von unterschiedlichen DNA-Fragmenten in einem einzigen Sequenzierlauf. Im Vergleich mit der klassischen Sanger-Sequenzierung ermöglicht diese neue Technologie eine Steigerung des Durchsatzes um mehrere Größenordnungen bei gleichzeitig drastischer Reduzierung der Kosten.

Die einzelnen Schritte auf dem Weg von der DNA zur Sequenz lassen sich in drei Abschnitte gliedern: (1) Herstellung einer DNA-Bibliothek. (2) Klonale, parallele Amplifikation der DNA. (3) Sequenzierung.

Herstellung der DNA-Bibliothek

Zur Herstellung der DNA-Bibliothek wird die DNA zuerst fragmentiert. Im Anschluss müssen die Enden der DNA-Fragmente repariert werden, da diese durch die Fragmentierung „ausgefranst“ sind. Die Ligation von Adaptern an beide Seiten der reparierten DNA-Fragmente schließt die Herstellung der DNA-Bibliothek ab. Diese Adapter enthalten Sequenzmotive, die für die weiteren Schritte (Klonale Amplifikation und die eigentliche Sequenzierung) notwendig sind.

Klonale Amplifikation

Die Technologie von Illumina® verwendet zur klonalen Amplifikation der einzelnen Fragmente der DNA-Bibliothek die sogenannte Bridge-PCR. Diese besondere PCR erfolgt auf der Flow Cell (Glass Slide ähnlich einem Objektträger) auf der dann auch die eigentliche Sequenzierung stattfindet. Die DNA-Fragmente werden hierfür über die Adapter an die Flow Cell gebunden, dann erfolgt die Bridge-PCR, bei der die auf der Flow Cell gebundenen Oligos als Primer fungieren. Pro DNA-Fragment entstehen durch diese Art der Amplifikation einzelne, von einander getrennte Cluster klonaler DNA-Fragmente.

Sequenzierung

Die Sequencing-by-Synthesis (SBS) Methode von Illumina® bedient sich der Cyclic Reversible Termination (CRT). Alle vier Nukleotide sind mit einem unterschiedlichen Farbstoff gekoppelt und durch eine Terminatorgruppe modifiziert. Während eines Reaktionszyklus werden der Polymerase gleichzeitig alle vier Nukleotide zur Strangsynthese angeboten. Nach Einbau eines komplementären Nukleotids ist eine Strangverlängerung durch die blockierende Wirkung der Terminatorgruppe nicht mehr möglich. Die vier Farbstoffe jedes Nukleotids werden mittels Imaging detektiert; die Farbstoffe und die Terminatorgruppe werden abgespalten; ein neuer Synthesezyklus beginnt. So wird Base für Base die Sequenz eines jeden Clusters auf der Flow Cell gleichzeitig ermittelt.

Computergestützt werden dann die einzelnen Basen-Sequenzen (Reads) zusammengesetzt und mit dem Referenzgenom abgeglichen.