Services

We provide a variety of sequencing services. These includes not only the preparation of the samples using various automated platforms, but also Next-Generation Sequencing (NGS) on different platforms (HiSeq, MiSeq, and IonTorrent PGM). We can provide additional data analysis options, with the choice to receive raw sequencing data through to processed and filtered variant call files.

Next-Generation Sequencing

Using next-generation sequencing, it is possible to analyze about 2 billion sequences in parallel equating to more than 180 billion bases per day. In comparison to traditional Sanger sequencing, where only single sequences can be analyzed, NGS offers significant advantages including cost and time savings.

Research: Exome

Whole exome sequencing enables the analysis of the entire protein coding region of a sample, which can then be compared across multiple exomes. Our experience extends from population genetics to tumor diagnostics.

Transcriptome Analysis

Using transcriptome sequencing, analysis of all RNA molecules of a biological sample at a specific time-point, are detected and quantified. This analysis has wide-ranging capabilities and applications.

Pharmacogenetics

In the field of pharmacogenetics, we offer a comprehensive analysis of 340 genes which have relevance in the absorption, distribution, metabolism, and excretion of drugs.

Funded projects

As a next-generation sequencing service provider CeGaT makes its expertise also available to publicly funded projects. We are currently a partner of the following projects and programs:

CAM-PaC

The CAM-PaC project deals with the integrative analysis of gene functions in different cellular and animal models of pancreatic cancer. Initially, novel cellular and animal models, as well as novel strategies, will be developed to generate large scale metabolic, transcriptomic and genetic data. On this basis, novel therapeutic options and bioinformatic models for predictive diagnostics can be developed. CeGaT is contributing to the consortium by providing its expertise in transcriptomic profiling and interpretation. The first step is the establishment of routine protocols for quantitative interpretation of transcriptomes of clonal-sphere-cultures (CSC) consisting of approximately 40 – 100 individual cells.

http://cam-pac.eu/

Funding program: 7th EU-Framework Programme

DESIRE

In the DESIRE project, novel strategies will be developed to advance the diagnosis, prevention and treatment of children with difficult-to-treat epilepsy. An important milestone includes the development and identification of different diagnostic tools and biomarkers in order to enable a standardized diagnosis and patient stratification. In this context, CeGaT will identify miRNA biomarkers from thrombocytes and will validate how these biomarkers can be used for the diagnosis and the prediction of progression of disease.

http://epilepsydesireproject.eu/

Funding program: 7th EU-Framework Programme

IonNeurONet

IonNeurONet is a research network that is supported by the Rare Disease Program of the Federal Ministry of Education and Research. The goal of IonNeurONet is the identification of novel genetic defects causing ion channel diseases. In addition, the network addresses the elucidation of pathophysiological mechanisms leading to these diseases. CeGaT carries out exome sequencing in affected families and has developed a special diagnostic panel for the diagnosis of ion channel diseases.

http://www.ionneuronet.de/

PONS

The PONS project aims at the development of a better predictive test system for a drug compound profiling based on neuronals cells derived from schizophrenic patients. In this context, CeGaT will use neuronal samples from animal or cellular models that have been derived from induced pluripotent stem cells. Expression levels of mRNA and miRNA levels will be determined quantitatively, making it possible to create a molecular “fingerprint” of the disease phenotype and to estimate the success of novel drug therapies by analyzing transcriptomic patterns.

Services

Wir bieten verschiedene Sequenzierdienstleistungen an. Diese beinhalten nicht nur die Vorbereitung der erhaltenen Proben mittels verschiedener automatisierter Plattformen, sondern auch die Sequenzierung auf verschiedenen NGS Plattformen (HiSeq, MiSeq, IonTorrent PGM) und weiterer Datenanalyseoptionen (z.B. Rohdaten oder bioinformatisch analysierter Daten).

Next-Generation Sequencing

Mit Hilfe von Next-Generation Sequencing ist es möglich ca. 2 Milliarden Sequenzen parallel mit bis zu 180 Milliarden Basen pro Tag zu analysieren. Im Vergleich zur Sequenzierung nach Sanger, wo nur einzelne Sequenzen untersucht werden können, bietet NGS große Vorteile wie z.B. Kosten- und Zeitersparnis.

Forschungsexom

Mit Hilfe des Forschungsexom kann der gesamte proteinkodierende Bereich einer Probe untersucht werden und mit dem von anderen Proben verglichen werden. Dabei reicht unsere Erfahrung von der Populationsgenetik bis hin zu der Tumordiagnostik.

Transkriptom-Analyse

Mit Hilfe der Transkriptom-Sequenzierung können alle, zu einem bestimmtem Zeitpunkt in der Zelle exprimierten, RNA-Moleküle einer biologischen Probe nachgewiesen und quantifiziert werden. Dabei sind die Anwendungsmöglichkeiten sehr vielseitig.

Pharmakogenetik

Im Bereich der Pharmakogenetik bieten wir eine umfassende Analyse von 340 Genen an, die relevant sind für die Absorption, die Verteilung, den Metabolismus und die Exkretion von Fremdstoffen.

Förderprojekte

Als Next-Generation Sequencing Dienstleister stellt die CeGaT ihre Expertise auch bei öffentlich geförderten Projekten zur Verfügung. Aktuell sind wir Partner in folgenden Projekten:

CAM-PaC

Das Projekt CAM-PaC steht für die integrative Analyse von Genfunktionen in verschiedenen Zell- und Tiermodellen für Pankreaskrebs. Zunächst werden dafür neue Zell- und Tiermodelle sowie Strategien entwickelt, um große Mengen metabolischer, transkriptomischer und genetischer Daten zu generieren. Daraus werden dann auf systematische Art und Weise neue Therapieansätze und bioinformatische Modelle für eine prädiktive Diagnostik entwickelt. Die CeGaT stellt dabei dem Netzwerk ihre Expertise in der Transkriptomanalyse und -interpretation zur Verfügung. In einem ersten Schritt werden dazu Protokolle in die Routine überführt, welche die quantitative Interpretation des Transkriptoms aus wenigen Zellen zuverlässig erlaubt. Ziel ist die Analyse von clonal-sphere-cultures (CSC), die aus ca. 40 – 100 Zellen bestehen.

http://cam-pac.eu/

Förderprogramm: 7. EU-Forschungsrahmenprogramm

DESIRE

Im Rahmen von DESIRE sollen neue Strategien entwickelt werden, um die Diagnose, die Prävention und die Behandlung von Kindern mit schwer behandelbarer Epilepsie voranzubringen. Ein wichtiger Meilenstein beinhaltet die Entwicklung und Identifizierung verschiedener diagnostischer Werkzeuge und Biomarker, um eine standardisierte Diagnose und eine sinnvolle Patientenstratifizierung zu ermöglichen. In diesem Rahmen wird CeGaT miRNA-Biomarker aus Thrombozyten identifizieren und darüber hinaus validieren, inwiefern diese sich zur Diagnose und Vorhersage des Krankheitsverlaufes eignen.

http://epilepsydesireproject.eu/

Förderprogramm: 7. EU-Forschungsrahmenprogramm

IonNeurONet

IonNeurONet ist ein vom BMBF im Rahmen des „Förderschwerpunktes Seltene Erkrankungen“ gefördertes Forschungsnetzwerk. Ziel ist die Identifikation neuer genetischer Defekte, die Ionenkanalerkrankungen verursachen. Darüber hinaus steht die Aufklärung ihrer pathophysiologischen Mechanismen im Vordergrund. In diesem Zusammenhang führt CeGaT Exom-Sequenzierungen bei betroffenen Familien durch und hat ein spezielles diagnostisches Panel für die Diagnose von Ionenkanal-Erkrankungen entwickelt.

http://www.ionneuronet.de/

Förderprogramm: BMBF Förderschwerpunkt Seltene Erkrankungen

PONS

Ziel des Verbundprojektes PONS ist es, ein verbessertes Testsystem für die Entwicklung von Wirkstoffen gegen Schizophrenie hervorzubringen, das auf patientenabgeleiteten Neuronen basiert. Dafür werden bei CeGaT neuronale Proben aus Tiermodellen und aus neuronalen Zellen, die von induzierbaren pluripotenten Stammzellen (iPSCs) abgeleitet werden, als Untersuchungsmaterial eingesetzt. Bei diesen Proben wird die Expressionshöhe von mRNA und miRNA quantitativ bestimmt. So kann ein molekularer „Fingerabdruck“ des Krankheitsbildes erstellt werden und der Erfolg neuer medikamentöser Therapien über die Transkriptom-Muster beurteilt werden.